a front door project…

27 Jul

::

it all started when my dad offered to re-do our front flowerbeds, which were just a bunch of weeds at the time. this was a big relief to me, since i know very little about perennials, and let’s be honest, about any plants in general. so everything was dug up, cleaned up, and new plants made new homes in front of our house. yes, my dad worked very hard while we lounged about…

…and then, well, it was all looking so lovely – and since i’ve declared this the year of my ridiculous painting projects anyway, i decided the front door would be next. so i dove in with this funny yellow. fail. then a green. fail. i have no fear of color, but honestly, i am the worst at choosing paint colors. then finally i came to my senses and asked my paint expert sister in law, and she suggested this lovely raspberry wine. it was close enough to hot pink that i immediately thought it was a good idea.

…and at my mom’s suggestion – i also buried an extension cord out to our front gate and put up little christmas twinkly lights, so that at night it is quite magical walking up into our yard. well, i say that the whole thing looks magical – trevor is sure that the front door suggests that there is a very understanding husband living here…and oh yes, of that i am quite sure.

so it was a project complete – and now i just have to keep up with the weeds. thanks again to my family!

 

4 Responses to “a front door project…”

  1. Amy July 27, 2012 at 5:03 am #

    I love love love the color of your front door. The front of your house looks very lovely. Can’t wait to see it in person!

  2. Crystal July 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    I noticed your front entrance twinkly lights a few weeks ago, and was enraptured! I immediately tried to think of how I could use twinkly lights in my own landscaping. 🙂 And that is a lovely colour for a door! Not quite a traditional red, but bright and modern and welcoming.

  3. Krista July 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    It looks fabulous!! Wow.

  4. s July 27, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    it looks great! xoxo

Leave a Reply

